Skip to Main Content.


Dennis represents clients with respect to issues concerning permitting and compliance in the waste, air and water programs.

Dennis spent nine years with the Department of Law (now Office of Legal Services), Kentucky Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Cabinet (now Energy and Environment Cabinet), where he served as manager of the Solid and Hazardous Waste Legal Branch and Director of Environmental Protection Legal Division. He also served as the representative of the Cabinet on the Environmental Crimes Workgroup.

He has represented and counseled clients in a broad range of administrative proceedings before environmental agencies, including USEPA Region 4; the Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet, Office of Administration Hearings; and the Louisville Metro Air Pollution Control District. In addition to representing clients in administrative litigation before these agencies he has litigated environmental issues in the Kentucky Circuit Courts and the Federal Courts for the Eastern and Western Districts of Kentucky.


Related Articles

Other Info About Dennis


Legal Work Highlights

Air Enforcement Defense: Sulfur Dioxide Emissions

Permitting and Expansion of Landfills

RCRA Defense: RCRA 3013 Order

Louisville Metro STAR Program


Bar Membership

Dennis is licensed to practice in the following state:

Kentucky, 1979


Dennis is admitted to practice before the following courts:

U.S. District Court Eastern District of Kentucky

U.S. District Court Western District of Kentucky

Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals


Local & National Recognition

Chambers USA, Environment, Natural Resources & Utilities: Environment, 2008-2017; Senior Statesperson, 2021

Kentucky Super Lawyers®, Environmental, 2013-2016

The Best Lawyers in America®, Environmental Law, Litigation – Environmental, 2003-2019; Louisville Environmental Law “Lawyer of the Year,” 2013, 2018

Peer Review Rated, Martindale-Hubbell®

Professional Affiliations

Professional Affiliations & Memberships

ABA Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources (SEER) Waste and Recovery Committee, Chair

Greater Louisville, Inc. Environmental Affairs Committee, Chair of the Air Toxics Task Force

Kentucky Bar Association