Skip to Main Content.

Diversity Scholarship Fund

Rallying behind the next wave of legal trailblazers.

Launched in 2010, the Frost Brown Todd Diversity Scholarship Fund is one of many unique ways our firm promotes building a pipeline of diverse attorneys in our local legal community. Typically, Frost Brown Todd awards approximately five $2,000 scholarships each year to deserving law students, meant to support them in their education or exploration of the law. Scholarship recipients are invited to a special awards reception hosted by the firm, and their accomplishments are featured in our quarterly D&I Reports.

Submission Criteria & Process 

The scholarship is open to all underrepresented law students, including but not limited to African American, Hispanic, Asian, Native American, LGBTQ+ and multiracial students. All female law students, regardless of race or ethnicity, are also eligible to apply, as are any other law students who come from backgrounds that would add to the cause of diversity, regardless of race or gender.

Scholarships will be awarded to applicants who best meet the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated academic excellence.
  • Service to the profession.
  • Service to the community.
  • Service to the cause of diversity.

To qualify for the Frost Brown Todd diversity scholarship, a candidate must be a full-time student. Evening students also qualify for consideration if they have completed one-third or more of the total credit hours required for a degree by the applicant’s law school. The goal of these scholarships is to provide financial assistance to worthy law students from ABA-accredited law schools and to promote, in a tangible way, the Frost Brown Todd Diversity Vision Statement.

Scholarship applications are typically sent to law schools within Frost Brown Todd’s footprint in the Spring semester and due in early September. Any students, inside or outside of Frost Brown Todd’s footprint, who wish to apply should contact Diversity Scholarship Committee Chair Justin Fowles at 

Learn About Last Year’s Winners